Brain Teasers
Brain Teasers Trivia Mentalrobics Games Community
Personal Links
Submit a Teaser
Your Favorites
Your Watchlist
Browse Teasers
All

Cryptography
Group
Language
Letter-Equations
Logic
Logic-Grid
Math
Mystery
Optical-Illusions
Other
Probability
Rebus
Riddle
Science
Series
Situation
Trick
Trivia

Random
Daily Teasers
Search Teasers

Advanced Search
Add to Google Add to del.icio.us

More ways to get Braingle...

A Pitchers Game

Logic puzzles require you to think. You will have to be logical in your reasoning.

 

Puzzle ID:#45384
Fun:** (2.02)
Difficulty:** (2.03)
Category:Logic
Submitted By:snowmonsterAus***mod!!

 

 

 



Can you explain how a baseball pitcher could win a nine-inning game without once pitching to a batter?


Answer

He could if he were a substitute pitcher brought into the game at the top of the ninth inning with the score tied, two outs, and a man on first base. If he then picked the man off at first base, the side would be retired and his team would come to bat. If his team then scored the winning run, in the bottom of the ninth, he would be the winner without ever having pitched to a single batter.
Hide




What Next?

  
  

See another brain teaser just like this one...

Or, just get a random brain teaser

If you become a registered user you can vote on this brain teaser, keep track of
which ones you have seen, and even make your own.

 



Comments

tick*us*
Oct 02, 2009

LOL, GOOD ONE Snowie, took me a while to figure it out, then I still was not sure so I CHEATED LOL!! Going to fool some people!! ENJOYED IT, As usual, keep up the great ones!!! WE WANT MORE!!! ;)
AndrewWalkerAfi*
Oct 04, 2009

great teaser
sammydjAau*
Oct 17, 2009

I thought the pitcher may of hit the winning run
gooberbaby1*us*
Jun 09, 2010

where'd you come up with that kind of brain teaser? Do you like baseball? bragger!


JUST KIDDING!
braingle100tus*
Mar 21, 2011

I'm too used to the trick teasers, I couldn't come up with a trick answer, just gave up
markmcdo1407
Jun 19, 2011

GREAT TEASER! Actually it could happen at any point in the game, not just the bottom of the ninth.
snowmonsterAus*
Jun 19, 2011

Awww, you right, except then it wouldn't be a nine inning game. . . .
markmcdo1407
Jun 19, 2011

Snow, a relief pitcher could come into a tie game(or trailing), first inning, get one out (like you stated, without throwing a pitch) and be the winning pitcher if his team takes the lead before the next pitcher comes in. The pitcher who relieves him could throw a perfect 8 innings and get a no-decision.
snowmonsterAus*
Jun 19, 2011

OIC . . . thanks.



Back to Top
   



Users in Chat : autumn 

Online Now: 9 users and 515 guests

Copyright © 1999-2014 | Updates | FAQ | RSS | Widgets | Links | Green | Subscribe | Contact | Privacy | Conditions | Advertise

Custom Search





Sign In A Create a free account