Brain Teasers Trivia Mentalrobics
Optimized for Wii (visit full site)

The Black Pawn



 

Fun:*** (2.57)
Difficulty:** (1.37)
Category:Other
Submitted By:kitty-cat

 



A chessboard is set up, and all the pieces are in their starting place except a black pawn, which has moved forward two spaces.

Is this position possible while still following all the rules of chess?


Answer

Yes.
Although white moves first, the knight is able to jump over other pieces. The white player may have moved the knight and put it back after the black player moved the pawn.

Hide


Rate Brain Teaser


If you become a registered user you can vote on brain teasers.

 


Comments

Posted by ThinksForFun on Jul 28, 2013

Nice one!

Posted by kitty-cat on Jul 28, 2013

Thanks! Credit goes to Trenton Lee Stewart and his series The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Posted by eighsse on Jul 29, 2013

Tricky! I had to look it up to even see which color is supposed to go first...so then I got it wrong because I had read into the question a line which doesn't exist, saying that only one move has taken place. Long story short: I fell for it!

Posted by bababawhomp on Aug 11, 2013

I remembered this problem from The Mysterious Benedict Society. I remember really enjoying it then and now.

Posted by dangerouspie101 on Feb 23, 2014

I love the Mysterious Benedict Society!

To post a comment, please visit the Full Site  


Back to Top



Copyright © 1999-2007 | Green | Privacy | Conditions
You are using the TV formatted version of Braingle. For more functionality, please visit the Full Website.

Google
 
Web Braingle.com
Sign In